Spice Cupcakes

While stocking up on some other spices at Penzeys, I stumbled across a “Baking Spice.” It’s a mix of ceylon cinnamon, China cassia cinnamon, anise seed, allspice, mace and cardamom. Sounded like a pretty good mix of spices to me, so I invested in a little jar. Now that it’s sitting in the cupboard, I wanted to use it! I haven’t made many cupcakes yet, and spice cupcakes sounded absolutely fantastic. I had to play it by ear with the spices and wait until I could taste one to choose a frosting, but I ended up making both a brown sugar frosting and a cream cheese frosting. Both tasty, both very distinct.

Spice Cupcakes

The cupcakes turned out very light and moist, and really rather airy. As for the flavor, think of coffee cake or crumb cake. It’s a nice, warm spice. I chose a yellow cake base so that the spice could really shine, which I think it does. (Although you could definitely add more and it’d be great!)

I was intrigued by the prospect of brown sugar frosting and thought it might go well with the cupcakes, so I made a small batch to try. It’s rather sticky and sweet (well, that’s not a surprise) and reminds me of fudge or cookie dough, both in consistency and flavor.

When I first tasted one of these cupcakes, I thought of topping them with cream cheese frosting. The cool, smooth, creamy frosting really does balance out the warm, fluffy cupcake. It isn’t as sweet of a combination, and I think they better complement each other.

Two Spice Cupcakes

It’s not the craziest or most inventive or most out-there cupcake flavor, but it’s still different from the familiar vanilla, chocolate and red velvet. If you want to try something different, maybe it’s time for you to give this cupcake a shot!

Spice Cupcakes


Ingredients
2 1/4 ounces brown rice flour
1 1/2 ounces almond flour
1 1/2 ounces sweet white sorghum flour
2 1/4 ounces potato starch
1/2 teaspoon xanthan gum
185 grams sugar
55 grams (1/4 cup) butter
55 grams (1/4 cup) coconut oil, melted
140 grams milk (I used 145 grams, or 2/3 cup, of unsweetened vanilla almond milk)
2 eggs
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon cinnamon
7 teaspoons “baking spice” (Use a total of 1/4 cup spices)

Directions
1. Combine flours, starch, gum, salt and baking powder.
2. Cream butter, oil and sugar.
3. Add eggs one at a time, mixing after each addition.
4. Add vanilla.
5. Alternate adding 1/3 of the flour mixture and 1/2 of the milk, combining after each addition. (Start and end with the flour.)
6. Bake 10-15 minutes at 350º.
7. Rest only a few minutes in the pan before removing cupcakes to finish cooling on a wire rack.

For frosting, I had success halving both of these:

Brown Sugar Frosting at Cupcake Project
Cream Cheese Frosting at the Food Network

 

Happy GF baking!

2 Comments

Filed under Baked Goods, Cakes & Cupcakes

2 responses to “Spice Cupcakes

  1. That spice mix sounds gorgeous, they look very yummy.

Leave a Reply

