Baking with Quinoa

Ever bake with quinoa? Considering how it’s such a crazy superfood, it shouldn’t be surprising that you absolutely can bake with it. It actually turns out that you can use quinoa in just about every way possible in your baking! Here’s what I’ve discovered:

 
1. Quinoa flour is a super easy way to incorporate the pseudo-grain into your baking. It adds its own flavor, which is a little nutty. Use a little or a lot, based on what you’re baking and your own preferences. (These Morning Glory muffins were made with quinoa flour.)

2. Uncooked quinoa can even be added! I used it in granola just like a seed (since it is one, after all).

3. Cooked quinoa can be added straight into cookies, muffins and the like. What I can’t wait to try is baking peanut butter quinoa cookies!

4. Cooked quinoa can also be ground up (in a blender) with other ingredients to make a smooth batter, like in this chocolate cake that I’m going to try soon!

5. Quinoa flakes can be used in all sorts of ways, including as a replacement for oats.

6. Cooked quinoa in your streusel or crumb topping. I’d use just a little, but doesn’t that sound good?

 

I know looking at all the things that others have baked with quinoa has inspired me to try incorporating this fabulous little seed into more of my baking. I hope you’re inspired to try something new too!

Leave a comment

Filed under Ingredients

Leave a comment